Apple Pie, Simple and Honest

Apple Pie. It is simple, honest, looks you in the eye… that’s really why it is the great American pie.  This apple pie, I do believe is the best I have ever made.

First you have to know some of my basic principles of apple pie. One, the apples must be capable and allowed to speak for themselves. I used 3 granny smith and 3 gala apples. Crisp, a little sour a little sweet… Two, the apples must be almost too many. The more apples in the pie crust the better the apple pie. And lastly, all the sugar and fats do not belong in the apples. They belong in the crust below (lard) and the crumb topping above (Sugar, butter… 🙂 ). This makes the parts of the pie complement each other, rather than have the whole pie be a sweet sugar free-for-all on your tongue.

So here is what I did:

First the apple filling: as mentioned, 3 Granny Smith, 3 Gala apples, skinned and cored and cut into thin slices (it looks like a jolly lot). Then I stirred into them:

2 Tbs Brown Sugar
2 Tbs Molasses
1 tsp Vanilla
1 Tbs Cinnamon
1 random splash of whiskey… because it was… *ahem* on hand (see that little tea-cup… not full of tea 🙂 )
DSCN0625
Stir this gently and let sit in the bowl until needed

Next the crust. This was just the same as the gluten-free pie crust for the chocolate moose pie. I rolled it out in pieces and put the crust together patchwork. You’d never be able to tell from the finished product.

Into the crust, place the apples. Do not pour them since that will make them all stand randomly and overflow the crust. You place them in relatively slowly all on their sides and jam them all in. In the bottom of the bowl there is some juice from the apples and sugar. I put about half of it on the apples in the pie and discarded the rest (into my mouth… its tasty)

For the (gluten-free) crumb topping I mixed together the following:

The scraps leftover from the pie crust
2/3 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup rice flour
1/3 cup potato starch flour
2/3 cup butter
3 Tbs Cinnamon (to taste obviously)
1-2 tsp ground Clove

Then you mix it up with a fork and add milk until it is crumbly but not dry: like just before pie crust consistency. (I only needed less than a tablespoon.)

You put this on top of the apples evenly and then bake the pie in a medium oven until done. (About 350 F for maybe an hour…) hmm… There was still a little whiskey left at the end…
DSCN0626

I also have recipes (from me) for:
Magical Pumpkin Pie
Stupendous Chocolate Mousse Pie

One response to “Apple Pie, Simple and Honest

  1. That pie looks great! My father in particular loves apple pie, and I shall try this recipe out as soon as I can. (As soon as more money finds itself in my pocket.)

Leave a Reply

