The Swansong of SciFi

It has been a very long time since I have posted. I have been ridiculously busy writing my dissertation etc, in preparation of defending in July and graduating in August. Therefore, I will likely not post much in the next few months either. That doesn’t mean that I wont be back when life settles down a bit.

Meantime, contemplate with me on the death of Science Fiction. SciFi  is fundamentally humanist. It is the glorification of human achievement and technology – it is a monument to the human spirit. But it is (almost always) without God… and therefore SciFi is dead (or at least mostly – dead). It died upon the birth of post-modernism. Recently I re-watched the scene that I think cut the heart out of SciFi, and I thought I’d share it.  The pointlessness of human innovation, summed up in the Replicants, and yet the only character with a poet’s soul is a replicant. Yes, its Blade Runner. Dark and nihilistic Blade Runner. Here, watch the scene and try to tell me how anyone in and of the world could write quality SciFi afterwords.

It is the most abandoned parts of Ecclesiastics, taken for life’s governing philosophy. Meaningless and chasing after the wind in SciFi speak is ‘lost in time, like tears, in rain.’

Well, if you haven’t read my short story where I try to have SciFi be something meaningful again, do give it a try: The Final Crate

2 responses to “The Swansong of SciFi

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on The Light That Failed | Aquila et Infans

  2. Pingback: Doctor Who at #1 In List of Greatest Sci-Fi Moments | FanGirlConfessions.com

Leave a Reply

